Computational Sciences in Mainz

In addition to the traditional areas of theory and experiment, numeric simulation tools are now becoming into a third instrument for use in scientific research.  As the complexity of interrelationships - for example in meteorology, genome research, and the interaction of individual molecules - cannot always be duplicated in experimental set-ups, modern scientific research is increasingly resorting to the simulation techniques used in information technology and mathematics. The advancement of these is the main interest of the research focus "Computer-based Research Methods in the Natural Sciences".

For complex systems in particular, an adapted formulation of the problem posed, the design of suitable approximations and algorithms as well as the development and execution of matching high-performance computer architecture are of major importance. Added to this is the problem of dealing with large and what are at first often unstructured quantities of data and the difficulties of visualization and interpretation of the results achieved. The aim of this research focus is therefore to foster corresponding projects that link information technology and mathematics on the one hand and physics, chemistry, geosciences and biology on the other.

By means of simulations for the theoretical interpretation of experimental results, the scientists at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and the Max Planck Institutes for Chemistry and for Polymer Research are thus making a significant contribution in the area of computer-based research. Given the rapid scientific advances in this field, methodological enhancement of the simulation technology are undoubtedly required, which makes collaboration with information technologists and numerical mathematicians all the more necessary if supercomputer architecture like that at Jülich is be used productively. It is only through this interdisciplinary collaboration that the working groups in Mainz will be able to hold on to their leading position in this field.

The subjects being investigated within the computer-based research focus derive from nuclear and particle physics, chemistry and the theory of condensed matter, genome research and population biology, meteorology and earth system sciences. Scientists are benefiting from computer-based processes in, for example, climate research (the physics of cloud formation), earthquake prediction (the behaviour of silicates subjected to high pressure), and the development of new synthetic materials (modelling of synthetic polymers). Furthermore, the focus is being placed on fundamental aspects of numeric simulations and the further scientific development of software and hardware, which are the subject of research in mathematics and information technology.

Rechnergestützte Forschungsmethoden in der Naturwissenschaft

Neben den klassischen Bereichen Theorie und Experiment entwickeln sich numerische Simulationen zu einem dritten Standbein naturwissenschaftlicher Forschung. Da die Komplexität der Zusammenhänge, z.B. in der Meteorologie, Genomforschung oder bei der Wechselwirkung einzelner Moleküle, nicht immer mit einem Versuchsaufbau abgebildet werden kann, greift moderne naturwissenschaftliche Forschung vermehrt auf Simulationstechniken der Informatik und Mathematik zurück. Deren Weiterentwicklung steht im Mittelpunkt des Schwerpunktes "Rechnergestützte Forschungsmethoden in der Naturwissenschaft".

Gerade bei komplexen Systemen sind eine angepasste Formulierung der Problemstellung, der Entwurf geeigneter Approximationen und Algorithmen sowie die Entwicklung und Handhabung dazu passender Hochleistungs-Rechnerarchitekturen von zentraler Bedeutung. Hinzu kommt der Umgang mit großen, auf den ersten Blick oft unstrukturierten Datenmengen sowie die Visualisierung und Interpretation der erzielten Ergebnisse. Ziel des Forschungsschwerpunktes ist daher die Förderung entsprechender Projekte im Spannungsfeld zwischen Informatik und Mathematik auf der einen Seite und Physik, Chemie, Geowissenschaften und Biologie auf der anderen Seite.

So leisten die Naturwissenschaftler der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und der beiden Max-Planck-Institute für Chemie und Polymerforschung mit ihren Simulationen zur theoretischen Interpretation der experimentellen Resultate einen wichtigen Beitrag auf dem Gebiet rechnergestützter Forschung. Angesichts des rapiden Fortschritts der Wissenschaft auf diesem Gebiet ist allerdings eine methodische Weiterentwicklung der Simulationstechniken nötig, die eine Zusammenarbeit mit Informatikern und numerischen Mathematikern zwingend erfordert, etwa um Supercomputer-Architekturen wie in Jülich nutzbringend einsetzen zu können. Nur durch diese interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit ist gewährt, dass Mainzer Arbeitsgruppen ihre führende Stellung auf diesem Gebiet halten können.

Die Themen, die im Rahmen rechnergestützter Forschung untersucht werden, kommen aus der Kern- und Teilchenphysik, der Chemie und der Theorie kondensierter Materie, der Genomforschung und der Populationsbiologie, der Meteorologie und den Erdsystemwissenschaften; beispielsweise bei der Klimaforschung (Physik der Wolkenbildung), der Erdbebenvorhersage (Verhalten von Silikaten unter hohen Drücken) oder der Entwicklung neuartiger Kunststoffe (Modellierung synthetischer Polymere). In all diesen Bereichen profitieren die Wissenschaftler von rechnergestützten Verfahren. Darüber hinaus richtet sich der Fokus auf  grundlegende Fragestellungen zu numerischen Simulationen sowie auf die wissenschaftliche Weiterentwicklung von Software und Hardware, die in Mathematik und Informatik Forschungsgegenstand sind.